Regional Facilities Auckland (RFA)

Winter arts adventures await at Auckland Live's Pick & Mix

Published Wednesday 24 May 2017

The ever popular free family arts programme Auckland Live Pick & Mix is back! No more rainy day blues, tamariki will have so much fun with a jam-packed season of free performances and workshops by top New Zealand talent every weekend this winter.

This year, Auckland Live Pick & Mix is bigger than ever with twelve weekends of exciting arts experiences for the young, and young at heart. Running from 24 June – 10 September and featuring a selection of Aotearoa’s most entertaining and artistically excellent arts companies including The New Zealand Dance Company; Te Rēhia Theatre; Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra’s ACE Brass; Trick of The Light; Binge Culture; Trash Puppets; Rollicking Entertainment; Black Friars; Royal Jelly; Freshmans Dance Crew and the ever-popular White Face Crew.

“At Auckland Live we are passionate about children having fun, learning, trying new things, and finding out how magical live performance can be.  We’re especially delighted to present these events free of charge, so every family can access the performing arts,” said Auckland Live Manager of Programme Development, Georgina Cervin.

Designed for first-time audiences aged three and up, the events aim to inspire passion and foster a love for creativity in children. Each performance is followed by an interactive workshop, with seating unallocated so audiences can come and go as they please. Auckland Live Pick & Mix takes place in some of our city’s most iconic venues: Auckland Town Hall, Aotea Centre, Bruce Mason Centre and Māngere Arts Centre. 

Highlights this year include international masters of shadow play, puppets and pop-up paper craft Trick of the Light Theatre; the stupendous Superhero Circus, combining magic and circus; Trash Puppets will help young ones learn about sustainability by creating their very own trash puppet from non-recyclable materials; and Whales by Binge Culture which invites audiences to don wetsuits and bring their own buckets to form a mock-rescue mission of a pod of whales. (Bookings are essential for Whales: aucklandlive.co.nz)  

Auckland Live Pick & Mix is part of the Auckland Live Kids Play programme, an ongoing initiative to introduce children to the arts, and nurture their creativity and curiosity. Families will discover and actively experience a diverse range of high calibre live performances.
 
For details of the full Auckland Live Pick & Mix lineup, venues, and timings, visit aucklandlive.co.nz/event/pick-and-mix


Auckland Live Pick & Mix events


Auckland Town Hall
New Zealand Opera l Saturday 24 June
The New Zealand Dance Company | Saturday 5 August
APO ACE Brass | Saturday 19 August
Goldilocks and the Three Little Puaka | Saturday 26 August

Aotea Centre
Superhero Circus l Saturday 1 July
Trick of the Light l Saturday 8 July
Whales by Binge Culture l Saturday 15 July
Royal Jelly l Saturday 22 July
Te Rēhia Theatre l Saturday 29 July
The New Zealand Dance Company l Saturday 5 August
White Face Crew l Saturday 12 August
APO Ace Brass l Saturday 19 August
Goldilocks and the Three Little Puaka l Saturday 26 August
Freshmans Dance Crew l Saturday 2 September
Trash Puppets l Saturday 9 September

Bruce Mason Centre
New Zealand Opera l Sunday 25 June
Superhero Circus l Sunday 2 July
Trick of the Light l Sunday 9 July
Whales by Binge Culture l Sunday 16 July
Royal Jelly l Sunday 23 July
Te Rēhia Theatre l Sunday 30 July
The New Zealand Dance Company l Sunday 6 August
White Face Crew l Sunday 13 August
APO ACE Brass l Sunday 20 August
Goldilocks and the Three Little Puaka l Sunday 27 August
Freshmans Dance Crew l Sunday 3 September
Trash Puppets l Sunday 10 September

Māngere Arts Centre
Royal Jelly l Saturday 22 July
White Face Crew l Saturday 12 August
Goldilocks and the Three Little Puaka l Saturday 26 August
Freshmans Dance Crew l Saturday 2 September
Trash Puppets l Saturday 9 September

#Pick&Mix #AucklandLiveKidsPlay #AucklandLive

News   RSS

Browse more …

Related Popular Events 

How to get your Event listed

To have your Event appear on Regional Facilities Auckland (RFA), go to www.eventfinda.co.nz who supply the event listings for this site.

Click here to add your Event now!